Start new topic Forum Latest digest Sign in Create account
Search
CrochetMenScarvesHatsGlovesSweatersCardigansSocksOther clothingWomenScarvesHatsGlovesShawls and cover upSweatersCardigansSocksSlippersBagsOther clothingChildrenScarvesHatsGlovesSweatersCardigansSocksSlippersOther clothingHomeBlankets and plaidsRugsHome decorationsPetsSchemesKnittingOther hand-madeChat

I am new here and really want to learn to knit and crochet. Don't know the first thing about it. H

Nov 19, 2021 11:19 AM

I am new, can use all the help I can get.  I want to learn to knit/crochet and know absolutely nothing about either.  Would really appreciate someone's help.  For instance I have heard to start with a simple little project.  Dish cloth? 

12 comments
Nov 19, 2021 01:32 PM

Welcome!  I am sure that you can find lots of help in your crochet and knit endeavors.  I have been crocheting for about 60 years and I enjoy it so much.  One can never have enough yarn, LOL.  I also go to YouTube for tutorials all of the time for help and ideas.  Once again, Welcome to our world!

Nov 19, 2021 04:52 PM

Welcome!!  Dishcloth is good for a start.  Even if you make a mistake, you can still wash dishes with it.  I think you could find a lot of videos and pictures if you Google" Learn to crochet" Etc.  This site tends to assume you are already good at it.    I have my students do a simple bow or just a string of practice crochet for a hair tie for their first projects. 

+1
Nov 20, 2021 09:16 AM

yup starting with a square is always a good way to start  And learn how to put in a safety line while knitting, which is simple.  Thread a crochet/knitting needle with a contrasting color yarn and thread it though the last row knitted leaving a tail on both ends.

If you have to pull out a row or more of knitting due to a mistake, it will unravel until it hits the safey line then you can easity put those stiches back on the needle.  This techniques has saved me many times.